primary school students singapore
In this article

The Ministry of Education (MOE) announced today (May 27) that registration for children starting Primary 1 next year will start on July 1 and end on October 30.

In light of the Covid-19 situation, there will not be any in-person registration at schools for the upcoming exercise this year.

Primary 1 registration is conducted over seven phases.

The changes will affect Phases 2A1, 2A2 and 2B, while the other stages, Phases 1, 2C and 2C Supplementary will largely remain the same, said the MOE.

The earlier phases – 1 and 2A – are for children whose siblings are current pupils of the school, and children whose parents are members of the alumni association, or who are members of the school advisory or management committee.

Phase 2B is for children whose parents have volunteered in schools, have affiliations to churches or clan associations linked to the schools, or are active community leaders.

Children with no prior links to the primary schools of their choice apply in Phase 2C. International children can only apply in Phase 3.

This year, instead of in-person registration for Phases 2A1, 2A2 and 2B, parents will need to complete an online application form to register their child, using their SingPass.

Parents are advised to set up their SingPass 2-Step Verification early, and ensure that their SingPass account is valid before the Primary 1 registration exercise starts.

Those who require assistance during registration may contact the school of their choice via e-mail or telephone on the days of registration between 9am and 4.30pm.

The list of primary schools and vacancies available will be updated here by mid-June 2020.

Cap On PR Students Intake

MOE also said that it will be introducing a cap on the intake of permanent resident (PR) children in primary schools, from this year’s exercise.

The cap will be about 25 per cent to 30 per cent of a school’s planned Primary 1 intake, and will only be applied in Phase 2C and 2C Supplementary.

“This is to prevent any concentration of PR children in our primary schools, provide a more conducive environment to encourage interaction between Singapore citizen and PR children, and facilitate the integration of PR children into Singapore,” said the MOE.

The ministry said that the vast majority of primary schools and PR children will not be affected by this change, as past patterns of PR admissions are “well below the cap of 25 per cent to 30 per cent”.

For this year, the cap will take effect in these 10 schools:

  1. Bukit Timah Primary School
  2. Bukit View Primary School
  3. Changkat Primary School
  4. Greendale Primary School
  5. Marymount Convent School
  6. North Spring Primary School
  7. Opera Estate Primary School
  8. Pioneer Primary School
  9. Tanjong Katong Primary School
  10. Xingnan Primary School

MOE said these schools are identified as their recent patterns of PR admissions are close to 25 per cent to 30 per cent of their planned Primary 1 enrolment in the past one to three years.

Going forward, the ministry will review and publish yearly the list of schools that will have to reflect a cap on their intake of PR children.

“This is to enable parents of PR children to make an informed choice and consider registering their child in other nearby schools if they wish to,” it said.

Featured Image Credit: Sassy Mama

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay updated with Vulcan Post weekly curated news and updates.


Vulcan Post aims to be the knowledge hub of Singapore and Malaysia.

© 2021 GRVTY Media Pte. Ltd.
(UEN 201431998C.)

Vulcan Post aims to be the knowledge hub of Singapore and Malaysia.

© 2021 GRVTY Media Pte. Ltd.
(UEN 201431998C.)